Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Back home

My X-T1 was an early model, with the light leaks (I actually experienced the problem as I use a tripod, 'cable' release, and a big stopper). Happily Fuji responded to this issue very quickly and positively, undertaking to fix any early cameras asap (contrast this with issues with some recent Nikons!). If it had not been for the Easter holidays, it would have been back in only just over a week. This is the camera I most enjoy using at present - the controls just seem natural and right to me. Much as I like the micro four thirds cameras, I do find the Olympus ones have controls which just do not seem natural to me, and even when I'm not using any other cameras, the controls of the E-M5 and E-M1 are often ... challenging. Personally in micro four thirds I have much preferred the controls of the Panasonic G and GH models, which have dedicated dials and levers to change the settings I most often want to access, so that I can concentrate on capturing the image, rather than trying to work out how to set the camera up to do what I want. Whether the X-T1 is actually any better in this respect than the GH3 is debatable, and certainly it is nowhere near the GH3 in terms of video capability. Fuji has some superb lenses (but not really any better than, and not the range of, micro four thirds), but I miss the 14-140 and 14-150 of the micro four thirds cameras, though hopefully the Fuji 18-135 will solve this when it becomes available, and it is reported to be weather resistant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.