A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Brightness In The Gloom.

A new walk to me this morning, well the first half of it, starting from the old Wilsden Station in Station Road, Harecroft and walking away from the viaduct to the fields and lanes around Old Allan Road. The second half returned through the top of Wilsden village and over Wilsden hill with familiar views of Hewenden Viaduct.

It was very dull and therefore views were limited but in the field just before getting back to the cars this huge bush of May blossom (I think or more probably Blackthorn) added a tiny bit of brightness. I love these old stone stiles and this one has been improved by the recent removal of a low tree bough across it. I'm always a surprised by this bit of the walk as to access the field you have to go through someone's back garden.

You can see my neighbour D and our regular companion Buster. D spotted some birds in the quarry at the top if Hewenden Brow that turned out to be Swallows. The first we have seen this year.

I really struggled to get up this morning and though I enjoyed the walk it felt like much more than 3 miles. The weather brightened to a lovely morning after we got back but I still felt grim. Then suddenly I was sneezing and streaming with cold!

Son Alex has gone back north today too, I always feel a bit lost when either of my offspring leave after a visit but things soon return to 'normal'. So that's the holidays over.

Hope you have all enjoyed yours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.