Somewhere to Hang My Hat

Early start this morning to catch a flight, we left Matt behind - he has exams at uni later this week, and the four of us took to the skies.

Arrived a lovely villa for the next few days. After siesta and a wander and then Benji cooking up dinner we finished the day with the board games - an old version of Trivial Pursuits - they didn't stand a chance (but then I'm not sure I've learnt a single fact subsequent to 1985).

Keeping a retro theme we are working through the villas CD collection and tonight was hits from the 60's, again I found myself worryingly at home. I mentioned yesterday that my Dad was one of 21 children. One of memories as a young lad was going to stay with them for a week or two. By then the younger of their children still at home would be early teens to mid twenties and I used to play all the singles and occasional LPs they owned - Frankie Valley, The Beatles, Mamma and the Pappas, The Animals, Elvis and the Beach Boys were my baptism into popular music these songs remain a soundtrack to a part of my life. (a bit of a contrast with Burl Ives, Wally Whyton and Jim Reeves at home ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.