Door Shopping

Gina and I both had the day off today (I know, an extra one... what a luxury!) and Miles was back at daycare, giving us a day to get really stuck in with Miles' room.

We finally made it to the salvage yard, and perused the hundreds of doors in what we're calling the 'door corridor'. We struck gold straight away. We managed to get 4 matching, solid, 4-panel doors, complete with handles, hinges and strike plates for $350. They're in impeccable condition. That is a real win.

We rushed back and I put the one up on Miles' room (after having taken off the rubbish sliding door last weekend it's just been a gaping frame). Wow. What a difference! Our small corridor now feels about double the size! It was all I could do not to pull all of the other doors off and replace them (but I'll save that for next weekend).

I made some floating shelves with the tassie oak that we got on Saturday. Looking a little limp at the moment, but I have a cunning plan to make them square off nicely. We put up the Little Goblin's pictures too.

Although it's not quite finished, it looks awesome and we're so happy! I'll blip it at the weekend when we've got it finished (except the floors - we'll need to wait to do the whole house at once).

It gives us hope for the rest of the house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.