End of the Race

Race day at Silverstone, and the forecast had varied from dry to heavy rain throughout, to cold and breezy with an odd drizzly period until just before the final hour of the race when the heavens opened. Fortunately we had reached the grandstands on the start/finish straight so we had good seats to see the action and get some great photos of the rooster tails of spray coming out of the back of the cars. It started to get darker and the rain fell more heavily and the safety car was despatched, and ultimately the race was red flagged about 25 minutes from the end as the conditions weren't going to improve.

This is a picture of the racing winning Toyota TS040 and the third placed Porcshe 919 coming around the final corner in the pouring rain. I really like this picture as it captures the essence of endurance racing and the conditions that they faced at the end of the race.

I got to meet one of my hero's, 5 times Le Mans winner and two times World Champion Derek Bell who was the Grand Marshall for the race, sadly my friend had gone shopping, so I didn't get a photograph with him, but I did get an autograph.

Now I just have a lot of pictures to sort through and select for my flickr page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.