If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Hall of Memory Birmingham.

Today is the first day of my short stay in Birmingham. I travelled down arriving in the early evening. Having settled into my hotel I met up with the rest of the party and we went out along Broad Street for a meal.

On the way back to the hotel I realised I hadn't really got any decent shots to choose a blip from. Yes I had the Birmingham skyline from my hotel window and one or two other safety shots but nothing really of interest. So I decided to try a few night shots as I walked back down to the hotel. Hand holding shots at night isn't (for me) very successful but there were one of two that were usable.

I decided that this shot of the Hall of Memory was probably the best. The Hall of Memory was built in the 1920's to commemorate the 12,320 Birmingham citizens who died in the "Great War". Even more returned from the war disabled by their wounds. Built of Portland stone it was opened in1925 having been built at a cost of £60,000.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.