The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Strange days indeed

No, I'm not in hospital or the weight loss clinic, but I have spent most of the day in bed! Was hoping to go back to work and see my colleagues and young people today, but my health declared otherwise.

I hadn't slept much in the night, kept waking up sweating and by morning I felt as if my brain had tuned into an alien channel with poor reception. So I called in sick and spent the morning ploughing the high seas of my feverish cold. CleanSteve has been in and out, but is looking after me very well.

By lunchtime I was feeling slightly more earthbound, and checked out the streaming service from Amazon prime on my iPad. I watched Alan Partridge Alpha Papa (the movie) then a few episodes of Absolutely Fabulous. I think I missed the first series on the BBC, because I was living in (the then) Czechoslovakia. This clip is from the epsiode where Edina discovers she has put on weight, and is weighing herself without her bracelet, which is on the floor beside the scales. She comes downstairs and her daughter says ,

"You've spent three hours trying to get dressed, and you still look like a bloated citrus fruit!"

After that I watched Jamaica Inn part two, and the sound was better tonight (the BBC was inundated with complaints last night about the sound quality). I still couldn''t hear what Joss Merlin was mumbling, and wish they hadn't chosen to film most of it in the dark, in Yorkshire rather than Cornwall. Budget cuts, anyone?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.