Alpacas in New Jersey?

I had a very brisk walk by the sea today. When I left my house to head to the beach, it was 70F and I did not think I would need a jacket for my walk. I was wrong! I arrived to my sister’s house, which is close to the beach, and I noticed it was a little cooler than it was back home but I still felt comfortable enough and the sun was out so after having a quick lunch we drove over to the boardwalk for our walk.
It was as if we landed on a different planet! The weather was windy and cool and the sun was hiding behind some thickening clouds. I was freezing! I did not want to miss the walk so I figured that if I walked at a good pace, I would warm up soon enough. Wrong! The wind was at our backs going up the boardwalk but coming back it was blowing full force into our faces and I swear it felt like the middle of winter. I was never so happy to get back into the warm car. The funny thing was, as we drove away from the coast the temperature warmed up and the sun came out again.
Driving back towards my sister’s house we took a back road and passed a farm that had about two dozen alpacas grazing on the grass. I had not seen an alpaca since my trip to Chile a couple of years ago. I could not believe my eyes. We pulled over so I could get a photo. I found out that, this farm is not that old and that a Wall Street executive decided on a new career after 9/11 and this is what he decided to do. They have shop located on the farm where they sell yarn and clothing made from the alpaca’s fur. Apparently, the alpaca is a very friendly animal and loves children. The farm is open for visitors daily.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.