Chilly Cherry

I'm in recovery mode after having the family over yesterday for my grandson's BD and although it looks really beautiful outside, it's really quite cool today. Again we have this wind that is keeping the temperatures only near 50F. I could have used the heat on this morning but I held out and waiting for the sun to warm things up.
I slept like a rock last night which is so unusual for me so I was happy about that. I was out with my grandson this afternoon and on the way home I thought I'd drive around the neighborhood looking for something to blip and he kept asking me if we were lost! I didn't dare tell him what I was really doing because he was in a hurry to get home to play with his gifts from his birthday. He told me to 'put on the map' (GPS) so that I wouldn't keep getting lost! Thankfully I spotted this weeping cherry tree on the way back to the house.
One of the best places to see weeping cherry trees in the United States is in Washington, D.C. Japan gave the United States a gift of over 3,000 cherry trees in 1912. Each year Washington, D.C. holds a two week long Cherry Blossom Festival that marks the begining of spring.
Even though this is just a single tree, it makes quite a nice addition to the landscape of this house. If you didn't know any better you would think it was a nice warm spring day...but believe me this cherry tree was a little chilly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.