Journey Through Time

By Sue

Alien or Allium?

Some flowers look very alien to me. This is (I think) a giant globemaster allium, which is a decorative flowering onion. And if this doesn't look like the something that will burst forth and take over the world, I don't know what does. When it does reach it's full blooming onion glory (notice the clever word play there**..) it looks more like a many splendored Sputnik hiding out in our back yard. Bill is fascinated with them, and even though they seem to strike some fear into my heart, I will admit they are interesting and quite showy.

I ventured forth between bouts of heavy rain to try to find something. This is it, I guess. See ya later.

** A "blooming onion" is a battered and deep fried onion served at Outback restaurants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.