The Historic Waterfall, Mote Park

This waterfall was built as part of the lanscaping and gardening for Mote House which was built between 1793 and 1800. A previous blip gives more details. It was allowed to fall into disrepair until rebuilt and restored in 2012 as part of the re-development of the Park using Lottery Funding and now forms a major feature in the Park. Well, I say a major feature as it's nothing much to get excited about. It gives the impression of a foaming torrent, which it isn't.

The Waterfall was created by damming Jenners Bank stream, creating a silt pool behind the dam so that only clear water flowed over the falls. The works were faced with Kentish Ragstone, a local rock quaried exclusively in the Maidstone area.

The reason for this shot today was that I was on my way back from the dentist having had emergency treatment for a tooth that broke on Saturday. The dentist put in a temporary filling and said I needed to have a crown fitted. So I have that to look forward too.

Going to the dentist upset my plans for the day - I was going to spend a few hours working on the prison contract, but that was restricted to just a couple of hours only. Never mind, some interesting progress was made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.