An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Paddock

Backblip

Woke at 6am and looked out the bedroom window of our holiday house here in Kent to the most beautiful view of woodland shrouded in mist, with the sun just starting to break through. It would have made the most perfect blip, but tiredness coupled with the lure of a cosy bed meant my camera stayed in its bag.

When I next awoke, I was the only one left in bed so nothing else for it but to have a leisurely stretch then lie for 5 minutes contemplating the week ahead.

I absolutely love the first day of a holiday, no reason to feel guilty about taking things easy and all the anticipation of the week ahead. Lovely. Finally dragged myself out of bed at 10.30 and went for my shower.

The holiday house is fantastic. On a working farm with an Equestrian Centre. In fact the first thing we saw when we arrived yesterday was a beautiful chestnut mare being led from the stables to one of the paddocks surrounding the house. Today's blip is the view from our cottage's garden to the trees at the end of the paddock.

David and John went to find the local Tesco while I gave Alan his lunch. They returned with many goodies including sausages and rolls so that was lunch sorted.

Later in the afternoon David went to collect my Auntie Maisie (she only lives 20 minutes from here, which was very lucky since the main reason we came to Kent was to see her) and she came and had dinner with us.

It was so lovely to see her. She was a huge part of my childhood and I used to spend chunks of my school holidays with her, my uncle Keith and cousin Stephen when they lived in Crouch Hill in London. My last visit down to Kent was for my uncle Keith's funeral in 1999 so it is lovely to be visiting in happier times.

Lots of wine and reminiscing followed a lovely dinner. My auntie Maisie was astounded and delighted at how much detail I could remember about my holidays with her. As soon as I started telling one story loads more memories would pop into my head. I suppose that's a sign of how much I loved my time with them.

My mum and gran are gone now and my auntie Maisie provides a wonderful link to them, sharing many of their mannerisms and turns of phrase. It was wonderful to recall family stories I know so
well but hadn't heard in a long time, and hear a few new ones including the fact that as a toddler, I apparently took great pleasure in throwing the fruit from her fruit bowl at her living room wall!

Oh how I wish she lived closer to us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.