Emeline

By Emeline

Missing Home....

I’m not going to lie…. This week has been difficult….
One of these weeks that makes you reconsider everything about your life and the choices you’ve made….

Seeing my parents leave Dubai was more difficult than I expected it would be. You would think that after 9 years living abroad, you would get used to goodbyes and being far away from the people you love…. But the truth is…. It gets harder every time….. At the beginning you are young and foolish and you are just excited to go on a adventure, and you convince yourself that they will all understand and be happy for you and that it’s no big deal….. But after a few years of missing all the important moments, after a few years of not being made aware of all the bad news because “they don’t want to worry you” ….. after a few years of not sharing any of your high and low moments with them….. it becomes more and more difficult to justify the decision to live so far way from what really matters….. Family.

It has also been a week where faith was tested, trust and promises have been broken, vision of a possible future was erased before it even had a chance to bloom …..

I read something yesterday that made me think:

“Our lives are one big puzzle,
We don’t know how many pieces we’ve got,
There are people that fit in quite nicely,
And people who try but do not,
We’re constantly adding more pieces,
All the memories of things we’ve been through,
We add laughter and tears and adventure,
And the lessons we’ve learnt to be true,
Everyone has their own puzzle,
There will be ones where you do not fit,
Don’t you ever dare make your piece smaller,
Just so you can live there for a bit,
If you keep cutting off all your edges,
One day you won’t recognize what you see,
And you’ll forget the person you once were,
Before the world told you who you should be,
Make the most of each piece in your puzzle,
It’ll be a grand masterpiece when it’s done,
So you won’t have to look back when it’s over,
And realize you’ve left out the sun.”

The weekend is coming and I’m sure I’ll be back on my feet soon enough, with the happy, positive, driven and strong personality that I am famous for :)
Soon enough, I’ll be re-focusing my thoughts on a new exciting project and/or a new vacation plan….. Soon enough, what I’m supposed to do will become crystal clear.

I have to confess that I haven’t taken my camera out during the past few days….. It wasn't exactly a few days I wanted to capture and remember forever.
So I also have to confess that this picture wasn't taken today….. But it’s a picture I love…. A picture I took a couple of years ago in Paris…. A picture that reminds me of happy times in my home country….. because today, I wish I was closer to home....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.