such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

University excitement.

We went on a school trip today to Sussex University to the UCAS convention that was being held there. It was quite good - but I came home with far too many prospectuses. Some of these places I'm not even going to consider applying for. Although it was quite useful in the fact that I found out that hardly any universities offer a double degree option - so now, Glasgow is a serious option (even though it's relatively low down in the tables for maths). The Scottish system is so much better than England's. Basically, in the first year you choose three subjects, in the second it gets reduced to two and then in the third and fourth year you can either choose to continue with both, or reduce it further to one. And it's free. Not bad. But I'm not sure whether I'll actually go there though because it's literally on the other side of the island.

I'm definitely going to apply to Cambridge (I still haven't decided on which college yet) and Imperial. But with Imperial, I'm going to apply for two course: Maths, and then Physics and Music. They do the music side at the Royal Academy, which means that I get to study Music Performance instead of just music which is offered at actual universities. Although, the downside of the latter is that I don't particularly want to study Physics (even though you can take modules in maths, they're applied maths modules, and I don't particularly want to learn about triangles for 3 years). But Imperial unfortunately don't offer a Maths and Music option. I'm going to apply, but I can still turn it down should I decide to (or maybe even accept...)

I didn't have a violin lesson this morning because all of the music rooms were locked, so we decided to reconvene tomorrow morning instead. I've got my physics EMPA tomorrow. Joys. It should be OK. Yeah. It'll be fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.