Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Prehistoric Weed

The rain was due to get here at 3pm. The Man and I had to work quickly after my eye test to get the grass cut at the holiday lodge. It hadn't been cut yet this season and was very long and hard to deal with. It would be so much easier if we just killed the grass and nurtured the short mossy growth that underlies it!

"If you haven't got a blip today there's something near the acer you might like!" I was excited, it might be a frog! I spent a few moments looking around, then I saw it! Oh! No! The upright fruiting body of a Horsetail, Equisetum arvense, containing millions of spores. These weeds are very invasive and date back to the Carboniferous period in world history. We will just keep cutting the stems down along with the grass!

The Man strimmed and I followed along with the lawn mower. The Met Office had been wrong, the rain began at 2.30pm. I put things undercover while The Man finished off. Then we set about on the indoor cleaning.

Time to go home for tea with only the floors to do in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.