My day

By 59

Late

I don't really like crowds so decided to do my ANZAC visit to the War Memorials a day late. It was lovely, I was there on my own and was able to have my thoughts without the distraction of others. In Bathurst we have a few official memorials. The one I have chosen remembers the earlier wars in the 1800s and early 1900s. This one is for the Boer War with Lord Kitchener as the main figure.

I thought there was a connection with the character Breaker Morant who was court marshalled and executed in Africa. On looking up the useful Wiki site I found out it was his colleague Handcock who was from Bathurst, also executed.

One hundred years after these events there were petitions sent to Queen Elizabeth 11 and the Australian Government. These were rejected. They were planning another High Court application back in 2013 so these men were not forgotten.

The memorial is surrounded by the most beautiful roses which look a bit like Peace. Hopefully that is what we will have in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.