My day

By 59

Iris unguicularis

If you asked me what my favourite flower is the answer today would be the winter iris. I was so excited to see it flowering today, in fact four flowers have appeared overnight. This plant originates in the Mediterranean countries like Turkey and Greece so suits our climate with hot dry summers and cool winters. These are just too easy to grow and are such a nice sight in winter when flowers are few.

I purchased one plant years ago and I keep on dividing it up so if anyone wants some let me know...

PS my favourite flower changes from day to day, depending on what is flowering at the time!

My exercise today was macro. I did three different sessions with different settings and seem to have trouble with the focus, either inexperience, wrong settings or my terrible eyes. I have trouble focussing at the best of times and when I have the camera it doesn't improve much. I did take a gorgeous 'in focus' shot of some red leaves but it will have to wait, I was so excited to see the iris it got the blip spot today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.