Heaven Scent...

This is my 600th consecutive Blip by the way, not a celebration of that fact but its resonance would not be quite the same tomorrow, now would it??

I'm afraid to say that I didn't get close and sniff this glorious pink blossom, underneath Salisbury Cathedral, so I do not know if its scent was heavenly, or not...

I saw this amazing floral display on the cold morning of Easter Sunday's Blip and even in the dull greyness it did have its appeal. But to Blip it I had to return, of course.

It's a blustery day today with sporadic sunshine. Yo-yoing back again from the long telephoto of yesterday's, it was back to my "standard" lens - ie, the one I use the most and couldn't live without - the Nikkor 10-24mm - I knew this one had to be tilted to make it dramatic and frankly, photographable. I had to get in close to fill the frame with all that delicious pink sprouting, whilst still getting the top of the 404ft spire in, plus the end of the West end of the cathedral.

You have to love tourists, don't you? This medieval city relies them so much that it would be churlish to say anything else! But, point your camera at something that no-one has taken one iota of an interest in and next thing you know, the whole World and his missus wants poses under the blossom tree! With the ultrawide lens anyone within shouting distance somehow has limbs or more infiltrating the frame.

I tilted it up slightly as the bottom left corner had lots of people in. In the end, I also cropped a fair bit of sky away. This gave extra emphasis to the subject, the blossoming tree. A polariser was used. I also like the way the cloud edge sort of echoes the shape of the blossom twigs.

I have to thank each and every one of you who rather surprisingly took my "weeds by the roadside" (alternative title, there) Blip of yesterday right up to the very top of the Spotlights, where it still currently sits. I guessed it might have appeal, but not to that extent and is now my 8th most Favourited Blip.

Have a great rest of weekend, all!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.