Saturn's Rings...

...taken with a macro lens?

OK. So it's actually the bottom of my brand new unused Prestige (non-stick) saucepan, part of a 3 piece set (Milkpan, 16cm, 18cm, with lids) bought with some of the money from the St George's Day shoot, for a massive £19.49. Knocked down from RRP of £65, at BHS.

Why?, maybe because they're "almond", or to you and me, beige. A lot worse in the shop than the clutter of the kitchen and very well and solidly made they are too!

As I'd been unwell today, almost not going out into the warm sunshine and with weather bad tonight and dodgy and colder (by half) temps, thought I'd snap a pan. As you do! - considering I'm not sure how I would be feeling tomorrow.

So, my extensive and elaborate 'studio' involved me with said saucepan upside down over my bare knee. Lit by an angle poise lamp and the blue is from an old scrapbook's back cover, casting a tint as well as being so out of focus that it just doesn't show.

The image is from the RAW though for all that I did to it, I might as well have used the basic accompanying jpeg, so little have I done to it.

Am spending much time tagging and indexing all my tens of thousands of images, from over the years. Am nearly there, all backed onto several external hard drives. On one drive, they're in day by day date order, another drive by subject. Drive three is for back-up. The final one has all my music and such on it.

Having run out of USB ports some time ago I decided I needed a USB hub. The pathetic £4 one from 7 Day Shop is hopeless and nothing worked, at least reliably. Today, though, my Powered D-Link 7 port unit arrived. Simplicity itself, it loaded itself within seconds and is so reassuring to have a proper unit that not only works without loss of speed but you just know is what was needed. Quite a bit more money, with carriage about £22 and requiring a mains supply but at least now I can move files between drives without changing cables and still have USB ports for things like my Ipod and CF card reader, as well as illuminated keyboard.

Have a couple of photo tasks to do this weekend, not paid but ones I want to do, so tomorrow will be sorting out more files and resting. Hope you all are well, very well, in fact.

Seems that today my Drug of Choice Blip reached its one thousandth view - wow! and thanks to all who helped rack up such a lofty figure...

Check out the rings in Large

Lens is Tamron SP 90mm f2.8 macro

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.