I'M HENERY THE EIGHTH, I AM

We decided a trip to the library was on the cards today as we need to stock up before we go on holiday, and neither of us particularly likes to read on the iPad so as we were finished in good time, Mr. HCB said he would treat me to a coffee. As we walked we spotted this man standing perfectly still, not a muscle moving! At one time these characters were only seen in touristy places like Bath and London but here was Henry VIII in our own town.

Thought we had better put something into his collecting bowl so that I could take a photograph and here is "good old Henry" standing outside one of our many empty shops in the town centre, so not a brilliant photograph, but part of our day. How do they stand so still and then frighten everyone when they make that quick movement? I found it fascinating to watch and would have stayed longer, but Mr. HCB needed weedkiller for our meadow (sounds grand, but in reality it is only a small patch of ground that needs weeding before we seed it with wild flowers!) so was anxious to get going.

Having bought the necessaries, Mr. HCB went off home on the bus and I stayed in town a while longer - and would you believe, another God-incidence! Saw a friend I haven't seen for ages and after standing chatting for a while, I asked if she fancied a drink, so we then chatted for another hour - I think she needed to chat and kept saying how glad she was that she had bumped into me.

So - now back home and getting excited about our forthcoming visit to Guernsey. We're taking the car because Mr. HCB, who is "Channel Island mad" wants to buy lots of books and has been saving his pocket money for weeks - I guess if he buys too many and fills the car up, he may have to leave me behind!!

Not a terribly exciting Saturday but once again, I believe I was where God wanted me to be - and what better place?

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch,
a smile,
a kind word,
a listening ear,
an honest compliment,
or the smallest act of caring,
all of which have the potential to turn a life around.”
Leo Buscaglia

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.