JUDGE NOT.....

…..that you be not judged! How often have I heard that expression and how often have I disregarded it?

Pete, from a Christian group called Prospects, came to speak to us this morning at church, to tell us more about the organisation and to challenge us and he certainly challenged me.

Prospects values and supports people with learning disabilities, seeking and creating the conditions in which they can thrive and grow. It also supports churches through the UK and encourages them to be inclusive in the way they welcome people with learning disabilities. Do have a look at their website.

He quoted these verses from 2 Corinthians 5 : 16-17 (New Living Translation)

So we have stopped evaluating others from a human point of view. At one time we thought of Christ merely from a human point of view. How differently we know him now! This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!

How true that is - I could have judged this man on the bus from a human point of view, but I don't know anything about him, so why should I judge him just because of how he looks? Instead, I smiled at him and he smiled back.

A very challenging and informative talk, Pete - thank you for reminding me that I need to look at people from God's point of view.

“How would your life be different if…
you stopped making negative judgmental assumptions
about people you encounter?
Let today be the day
you look for the good in everyone you meet
and respect their journey.”
Steve Maraboli


I had a card in the post yesterday from Australia - written by Estelle - it was lovely to hear from her and to know that she is making such good progress - please keep her in your thoughts and prayers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.