Homework

I began a new photography course this week. It's the one I should have started with in the first place - basic camera skills. Or how to take a half decent photo without spending hours fiddling in photoshop afterwards.

Most of Lesson 1 was taken up with learning how to prise the camera off automatic and adjust things like aperture and shutter speed. I'm hoping that next week I'll learn why I might want to do that.

Homework was to crop in camera - get the image right first time, and don't rely on manicuring it in the computer afterwards. I thought I'd start with something relatively straightforward (saving the Eiffel Tower for next week), so I stopped off at Corin Sworn's current exhibition at the Botanic Gardens.

As an exercise it was probably useful, but it wasn't nearly as much fun as sneaking up on people on buses, or accosting men in parks. And despite clear instructions from the tutor, I couldn't resist faffing with the image a tiny bit - sorry, Corin.

Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.