Journey Through Time

By Sue

Columbia River Gorge From Vista House

The clouds were marvelous today and when I went to get auntie, I thought...hmmm, I think maybe we should go to the Vista House and see that view. We did and here it is. Looking east, Oregon on the right, Washington on the left. If you followed that freeway, Interstate 84, below, you'd end up in Salt Lake City. From there, if you hang a left you'd be on I 80 which would take you to Chicago. I've never been to either place.

Sometime in 1804, Lewis and Clark, intrepid explorers went off to explore the uncharted lands in the far west. They came down this river and finally found their way to the Pacific Ocean. They looked around and knew this was going to be quite a wonderful land for further exploration and to harvest the many resources that surrounded them.

I can only imagine that on that day, as they traveled the river, the local Native American Chinook chief saw them coming and thought, "Well, crud, there goes the neighborhood." Or words to that effect.

Busy day, see ya later

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.