Plus ça change...

By SooB

Winter Wonderland

It never snows in our village. We live by the sea and it's too warm. This is something I began repeating as a mantra after the first three years living here resulted in a disappointing lack of snow. No closed schools, no being snowed in, no snowball fights, no sledging.

Of course, for the subsequent two years, we've had snow. Today is the first time I've seen snow here last all day - and with the temperature tonight it'll still be here tomorrow. So, of course, we all got kitted out in our warmest gear and headed out to get wet and cold. This is a view across one of the greens in the village, and we joined a group of Katherine's friends here to build snowmen, then turn them into igloos, then snowball fortresses. Lots of fun. I think I was probably the most disappointed of all to have to go in when it was dark.

I love talking to kids (dunno how teachers ever get anything done - I'd just be wanting to chat to them all the time) and here's a conversation with an 8 year old boy:

Boy: Must be time for the snowball fight soon.

SooB: I'm not having a snowball fight with you - I bet you're a really good shot.

Boy: Yes, I am.

SooB: Well I'm rubbish at it. There are just some people who aren't very good at things like that - and I'm definitely one of them.

Boy: Never mind. I'm sure you make up for it by being really good at ironing.

He was the first boy Katherine was 'interested' in (she still blushes if you mention him). I think I might warn her off! Though I chose to take it as a compliment, seeing as how I'm always so well turned out (ha!) When I put that to him, he nervously laughed and said "Oh no, it's just that wives spend all their time ironing so they must be good at it." Humph.

(I was much better at igloo building than him. But I'm not about to get competitive with a small boy. But really, I was.)

Bit of a cheat really, this shot. I'd offer a foodie prize to anyone who can spot the error I couldn't be bothered to fix, but I can't get out in the car to deliver anything and all the food will be gone before the snow is. So you can just have a smug contentment as your prize.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.