If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wild Garlic (Allium ursinum)

Currently I seem to be too busy to get away from the house and garden looking for a blip. So I am afraid it is another flower.

According to the TV chefs flowers on the Ramsons means the end of the season for using the leaves, as after this they are too tough and stringy. I can't vouch for this as despite the fact we have a large patch under the Sorbus I have never tried them.

All parts of the plant are edible I am told. The scientific name tells us that it is an onion with something to do with bears -Ursus = bear. Apparently bears and wild boars are particularly keen on the bulbs. If you are in a wood in spring you will probably be able to smell the wild garlic as you walk along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.