If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Fell Ponies on Mungrisedale Common.

I had my usual Sunday lie in, and now that I am sleeping on my side when I want to, I was actually in bed and asleep quite a long time.

After lunch I went out for a drive to try to find a blip. When I got to what was to be my first shot the camera came up with the dreaded words "Pictures will be recorded to built-in memory". I had forgotten to replace the SD card after downloading yesterdays shots. No problem I have a spare in the camera bag. Wrong! As I wasn't taking my camera bag to Birmingham with me I took the spare out and I hadn't replaced that either.

I can get about 5 shots on the built in memory. I can recommend going out without your memory card as a learning experience but do it when you have planned to not by mistake. Believe me it makes you consider your shots much more carefully, reviewing them and deleting as you go along.

Soon after I went out it started to rain which also didn't help. However I was determined not to be reduced to another flower in the garden shot. So the ponies on the common appealed most of my shots today.

A quick lesson about fell ponies. They are believed to be descended from wild ponies which probably roamed the area in prehistoric times. They were used in turn by the Romans and Vikings. More recently they were used for carrying minerals and coal in the north pennies also wool and cloth in Cumbria.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.