visiting my great uncle

My ticket, fountains in front of the Museum of Art and my great uncle's painting in the Glackens' Wing of the museum.

oh my! It has been days since I posted here . . .
After traveling to FT Lauderdale to see my Great Uncle William's special retrospective exhibit and view the always available "Glackens' Wing" at the Museum of Art there, I found I needed a break from posting. So I took one.

But what a fantastic trip! I was only gone for 2 days, although I had plenty of time to wander the museum's special exhibit of his work without the crowds of the opening night. I could really stop and stare at some of my favorite paintings. While viewing the retrospective, I also had the use of a "phone" that held recorded information about certain paintings or illustrations Glackens did. I learned so much about the different pieces that were highlighted this way. If the card on the wall next to the painting had a number next to it, you could push that number on the "phone", then hold it to your ear to hear the extra information about that painting! At the desk they kindly pointed out that there was an app you can download onto your smart phone or iphone, that held the same information. SO cool! I was able to show the paintings via that app on my smart phone to my mom yesterday and even play for her the recorded information :) She remembers meeting Glacken's wife Edith -her father's sister, many times.

When I arrived at the museum I went and got a lovely salad from the Cafe' and sat outside to eat it. I recognized the director of the museum from the opening night festivities Steven & I attended in February and went over to say hi. She was so very gracious and insisted on comping my ticket for the day, yay!

I walked through the retrospective first and then visited the Glackens' Wing. Besides many of his paintings, there is a room set up in the wing to resemble the Glackens' 5th Avenue, New York apartment where they lived from 1908-1911. There are some photos of "the parlor" and a few paintings that are held in the wing, here in a small album. I could not take any photos inside the special exhibit as it was strictly prohibited.

I took a shuttle bus there and back that was the size of a large van! It was a far better way for me to travel on my own than driving 3 and 1/2 hours by myself . . . I could read & relax and not worry! I got a taxi to the hotel after being dropped and the airport and that worked out great. The Riverside Hotel is charming, 75 years old and right on the river. Once there, the Museum was within easy walking distance to the hotel. Plus there is a lovely Riverwalk in between the two! I'll be back tomorrow with some more photos from Friday.

You never know what you can do till you try.
~ William Cobbett

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.