The second half of life..

By twigs

Piwakawaka

This wee fellow played lots of games around the house and garden today. Sitting, chirping in one tree then flitting across the garden to rest in another tree and chirp awhile before taking off and doing a few aerial pirouettes over a garden (presumably trying to catch bugs that had been disturbed from my gardening). Off then to the front of the house to sit high up in the big tree and sing a while before disappearing. I have no idea whether he was the same bird that returned several times but I choose to think so.

This morning I was very surprised to see Mrs T on my deck, stretched out and dozy. I initially thought she was dead but a closer look caused her to waken, snuffle and shuffle a bit. At one point she was stretched out in the sun - not very hedgehog-type behaviour! I am pretty sure she is the same one I saw the other day (and again yesterday) and she really did not look in good order. Her poor eyes seemed barely able to open and her skin was crusted with who knows what. I found a shoe box, popped her into it and took her up to the vets. They kept her, telling me that they were the local vets for the SPCA and they'd get both a vet and an SPCA officer to have a look at her. Sadly, mid afternoon, I received a call from them telling me they had decided it was best to euthanase her. The bad dose of mange that she had meant that treatment was not really an option.

I feel awful that I was the one who had effectively ended this wee creatures life although I know it was probably best for her. It's left me feeling very sad.

In rather better news I confirmed a place today on a shearing workshop in Otago later in the year. The decision was easy when Scott emailed me to tell me he'd changed the dates and they now conicided with school holidays. Awesome! Another road trip to look forward to :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.