An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Little Mother...

When we were down in Kent at the start of the Easter Hols, my Auntie Maisie stunned me by producing a little bundle of family photos that I'd never seen before. Oh the bittersweet joy of seeing my mum, gran and grandpa and auntie Maisie so young and full of the joys of life.

Some, like this one, had me in them! 70s fashion! What WERE we thinking! :))) And I'm referring to both the clothes and the decor!

This is me with my young cousin Stephen. I think I'm about 4 in this one. My Auntie Maisie, Uncle Keith and Stephen lived in London so I only got to see them in school holidays when either they visited home or I went to stay with them.

I absolutely adored Stephen (and still love him to bits even though as adults we don't get to see each other that often) and very much considered him mine. I felt like his Little Mother and took my responsibility very seriously, as I think you can see from my no nonsense expression and the tight grip I have on him. Well you never know, he could've slipped under the three inches of water in that tub. Although I think I remember a sound akin to a champagne cork popping when Stephen was eventually removed from the basin!

I am laughing at all the money new parents spend on baby bathing equipment when really all that is needed is a basin and some soap and water. Sponge optional as there doesn't appear to be any room for this one.

At some point I will scan all the photos and archive them into my blip journal.

Precious, precious memories.








Ok you can all stop laughing now :p

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.