Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome back!

Those of you who know me and follow my journal were probably expecting this today...P-Hummie showed up last night, the first male ruby-throated hummingbird to arrive this spring. So, you knew I had to blip him. He was the first bird I saw this morning when I looked out the window - brought a smile to my face. Several hours later, the second male arrived on the scene and I got my first "fly-by" of the season when P gave ferocious chase to the second male. Oh, how I love this time of year!

Another new arrival today was the first Gray Catbird of the season, always a welcome sight. Shortly after, I was completely shocked to look out and see FOUR Baltimore Orioles at the suet feeder - three males and a female. Being that the males were obviously traveling together, I can only assume that they've just arrived from their long migration- and they will either settle somewhere in the area, or continue traveling north. Like the female who's been here the last few days, they totally ignored the oranges, going straight for the high-protein suet. What a delight. The backyard was a cacophony of color today with a goldfinches, cardinals, blue jays, orioles and the hummers - and the air was filled with song

I've posted six pics (including a shot of P perched) startign HERE on Flick

Hubs and I have stocked up on paint and plan to start painting the living room tonight. Also have a list of small repairs that we'll get to over the weekend. The clock is really ticking now, so there is much to be done. That won't prevent me from snapping some pics of P-Hummie and the rest of the backyard birds over the next several days. I'm going to have to get my fix of hummingbirds this summer...

Happy Friday, people...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.