Molly's Garden

I mentioned a few days ago that when we removed the overgrown shrubbery from here to make room for mini neighbour Molly's House and to give her more room to play, we rescued this clematis which had grown through the shrubbery and laid it on the wall. Today when the sun came out, it was probably displaying its best, which is my reason for blipping it. On the down side, Tony commented that there wasn't a single insect or bee to be found on it/in it which is a shame and probably down to how it reproduces. I'm hoping gladders will be able to explain. At least there is a blackbird nest with three or four chicks in the middle of the clematis, now superbly hidden and protected. I've enjoyed watching blackbird mum and dad going back and forth today, decimating the worm population.

Still on Springwatch, I have to sadly admit to killing the mouse in our glory box today, purely accidentally. We had noticed that the birdfood sacks in the box have been nibbled and when I took out the lawnmower I found the makings of a nest underneath it. I recognised some threads from my new gardening gloves in and amongst the dried grass from the mower! I reckoned I had scared mouse into hiding but when I started up the mower...s/he fell out. Thankfully it died very quickly because I really didn't want to hit it with the shovel if it looked to be suffering. Also thankfully there were no more mice in the nest. I'm sorry if some of you are laughing at this and others are appalled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.