Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

My Odyssey

A different twist on a sweet pair of Santa Rita Cactus flowers.

My health has been of a serious personal concern throughout the past six or seven weeks. After my routine lab work for my quarterly nephrologist (kidney doctor) appointment  it was discovered that I had a serious deficiency in vitamin D. That prompted a prescription for a megadose for the next six months.

The more pressing issue was a dire loss of iron in my body. I had approximately 10% of what I should have had. I immediately began a course of five IV iron infusions. I received my final one this morning.

I stopped feeling cold after the second one, but to be honest, they never gave me back my energy like they were expected to do.

My nephrologist continues to believe that I am losing blood somewhere. Wednesday, I had a colonoscopy and an endoscopy esophagogastroduodenoscopy. Both tests were fairly negative but not conclusive. A biopsy of my stomach was taken even though no blood was found. Another test or two will be performed on my colon.

Today, the nurse who administered the iron infusions gave me an order for blood  to be taken in two weeks to see if the infusions were a success. That is exactly when I will next see the gastroendo.

So...this is part of my new odyssey. A journey through the scary unknown.  

Trying to keep up with my responsibilities with my mom.

Trying to keep my bipolar disorder in check and stable while I experience tribulations and stress.

I know there's not much anyone can say. Just know that I appreciate knowing you're there and I will still be trying to snap away every day through the hand tremors and the blurry eyesight.

Blip is my salvation  And the people here are my angels. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.