Skip's Blips

By Skip

Greedy grackles...

...have moved into the neighborhood and taken over. Although they are migratory birds, that move south for the winter and have recently returned to Ohio, this is not the kind of migratory bird I am hoping to attract. However, today, this is a good as it gets. The weather was mercurial. A little bit of sunshine, a lot of drizzle, some very heavy rain showers that left big puddles, with wind and a few rumbles of thunder to round out the mix. I went to the park but after a few minutes, the rain started and, not wanting a wet camera, I headed for home to look for a blip at the bird buffet. This wasn't a good day for birds, beasts, or blippers. Two bird watchers I met in the park described it as a "garbage day" because there weren't any interesting migratory birds to be seen, just the ordinary "garbage birds.". They were all hunkered down or holed up, trying to keep warm and dry...and so was I.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.