Marrakech to Tangiers...

Something of a long lie was had this morning... well I say long lie, what I really mean is that I slept in and woke up at 8am to find that my Dad had gone to sort the two boys out before they went to do the Marrakech Atlas Etape.

I got up and went down to help unpack and repack the trailer so Dad could fit the bikes in when he picks up the two mentalists from the side of a mountain. Went for breakfast which was quite a grand affair given some of the places we've eaten over the last month but nice to have such a huge choice on the last morning. A leisurely breakfast was had, then some time to shop... poor Campbell probably wishes he'd jumped in that freezing pool cause his forfeit was to take me round the shops. To be fair, we went to one, got what I wanted and left again. Back to the hotel to sit in front of the pool - under an umbrella with my milk bottle skin - and lounge till the boys got back.

Last night at dinner, DAA asked what I thought he should do about the event today so I told him he should cane it and win. I was sort of joking. Needless to say when he called after he'd finished to say that he was done I asked how he did. He replied that he'd won! WTF? I was kidding really! I didn't expect him to actually go out there and win the thing! Apparently there was a sprint finish with him and another guy but he finished in first place. I'm a little bit read a lot proud of him. After cycling over 2,000 miles, still the Duracell bunny goes on!

Fiona and I had lunch while we waited on the return of everyone else, Campbell swam perved in the pool and before we knew it, the time had come for them to leave for the airport and for Dad and I to get on the road and up to Tangiers to make it back to Malaga. Andy is meeting us in Malaga to take the broom wagon home.

The prospect of the return journey across the border did not fill me with joy so we left Marrakech around half three. We stopped to get fuel and a coffee once we were outside the city and reorganised the trailer now that all the bikes were in. I missed saying goodbye to Douglas Senior as his arrival at the airport was, how would you say, cutting it fine? He had to depart the broom wagon in a bit of a hurry and get in a taxi, pretty much straight after finishing the Etape. Dad managed to get stopped by the Police and was fined for overtaking what was effectively a parked car! Haha! Schoolboy error!

We got on the road and literally just kept going until we got to Malaga. It's a long time since I've driven through the night. It's fair to say I was helped along the way by espresso and chocolate. We got to the ferry at ridiculous o'clock but I'll continue with that tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.