Tangiers to Malaga...

We arrived at the ferry port at about half past midnight and there was no-one to be seen all the way down to the actual ticket office. I think there may have been two policeman stood on a corner having a chat but other than that we passed no-one. I'd spoken to my brother who looked up the ferry timetable to find out there was a 2am ferry from Tangiers to Algeciras so we decided just to go for that. We figured that the ferry port couldn't possibly be as bad in the middle of the night and how right we were. Happy days! Now lets hope they don't want to search us!

At the ticket office there was still someone in the car park. It may be 0030 but he's still there taking me over to the ticket office, cause I couldn't possibly have walked those 50 yards by myself. He didn't contribute anything to the conversation with the guy in the booth yet on walking us back to the car still expected me to give him some money. I suspect the coins I handed to him cause I'm a sucker! were more of an insult than a tip though. The guy in the booth confirmed that my 'husband and I' should make the 2am ferry. Haha... he was mortified when I pointed out that he was my Dad. Made me chuckle.

We got on the way through the rest of the checkpoints until we came to a big lorry with a ramp beside it and a huge arm over the top. Some man with a gun barked at us to get out of the car which we did obviously... there was no pussy footing around, wondering who's in charge. It was very clear! Told us to stand beside the wall (please don't let him shoot me!) while they moved the lorry back and forward over our car and the other car that had appeared from pretty much nowhere.

He made us open the trailer. I figured I'd shut up and do as I was told, he didn't appear to be interested in making conversation. He asked what we were doing so I tried to explain in childlike sign language and hand gestures that we were the support team for a charity bike ride and taking the luggage home. I guess my explanation must have been enough cause were sent on our way to start a queue for the ferry. We did. Right at the front. (Please don't make me reverse on/off the ferry!)

Phew... drove on, pulled a u-eh (no idea how to spell that but you know what I mean) inside the ferry! Result! I think there must have been a total of ten passengers in the line before it was time to board. We watched the ferry come in and then release all these cars and vans with seriously huge loads, placed delicately on the roofs, tied on (just) as we watched in wonder, thinking how/why/what/who?

Some had a full set of dining chairs on the roof. Really? Big demand for dining chairs in Morocco? Clearly.

I think I must have slept a little on the ferry because we were sailing past the Rock of Gibraltar before I knew I'd sat down. I should probably have checked the duty free on the ferry but by that time my brain was cowering in some dusty corner wondering how long before I could sleep horizontally rather than sitting upright.

We made it to Malaga, through the border off the ferry without the guy so much as taking his hands out of his pockets. He merely waived us through with a flick of his head. I could have brought all sorts back in that trailer, no-one seemed to give a shit. I didn't obviously, cause that would be stupid and it's not that dusty up there!

We found a hotel after a bit of a tour round the airport and proceeded to have breakfast, have a shower, hand over the car then went to bed for a few hours before our flight home. To my own bed! Hurrah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.