Dance Skaters...

Day 12...

I got up and ready at a leisurely pace this morning. Mum and Dad went out before me, Mum wandered through the park while Dad went to the American Museum of Natural History. I went shoe shopping of course! I've only bought four pairs which isn't bad for me... and no killer heels although we do have three shopping days left so there's still time!

I came back to the apartment to ditch my bags before I wandered up 8th Avenue to Central Park via quite a posh deli... a little like Waitrose and bought some lunch to eat in the park. I say lunch but it was about 3pm when I got there, just in time to watch the dance skaters again. They are there every weekend and worth a visit if you're in the city. You can find details here. They make the spectators most welcome and if you like to dance they're happy to have you in the rink and this lovely gentleman, James, is more than happy to dance with you even if you have no skates. He very politely asked the husband of the family I sat beside last weekend if he could dance with his wife. I like good manners, that made me smile a lot. I find it difficult to tear myself away from the skate park, it's very easy to spend all afternoon just listening to the music and watching the dancers.

I wandered up to Strawberry Fields after I left the skaters, there are buskers playing Beatles songs and lots of people singing along. This is the best place for people watching, catching little moments between lovers or children. I'm most definitely a fan of secret snaps.

As I walked back down 8th Avenue there were a lot of people milling around and directing pedestrians round a different block as there was a movie shoot going on. I sneaked through mainly cause I couldn't be arsed walking round the block and managed some sneaky shots of Jamie Foxx in action on the set of London Calling. Apart from meeting June Sarpong at Ben's party last weekend, he's the only celebrity I've spotted during my stay in the big apple... although I can't say I've been looking really.

Lovely day, the weather has been glorious since I've been here. Not a drop of rain watch this I'll have just spoken too soon and the sun has shone on the whole of my 40's so far!

Should you feel the urge to rake through the rest of my photos, they're here:

Week One

Week Two

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.