Rainy Day...

Day 13...

Ha! I spoke too soon! It was raining this morning when we got up... just in time for our open top bus tour! Still... the nice lady on the bus gave us massive yellow capes... talk about looking cool in the Big Apple! Needless to say I sat on mine! I've posted the banana bunch in the Facebook album.

The bus tour was a pretty cool way to see the city though I've walked most of downtown since I spent a few days in Soho, Chinatown, Greenwich Village and Chelsea in my first week. Had I known how easy the subway was I might have used that a little more often but I dare say given the cheesecake I've consumed, it won't do my lardy arse any harm to have walked the miles I've walked. I'm only sorry I didn't remember my pedometer to track the distance over my time here.

We had lunch in Greenwich Village and then wandered a bit further up to East 14th where we went for a hot chocolate in Max Brenner's shop. By far the best hot chocolate I've ever had. Obviously I bought some to bring home. I might have picked up another pair of shoes after that too. We got back on the bus and did the rest of the tour round Wall Street and back up the east side of Manhattan before departing at East 34th and walking back up to Fifth Avenue where I might have picked up another pair of shoes possibly my favourites so far... six pairs in total before a quick trip round Grand Central Food Market via the make-up shop opposite for a bulk buy in lipsticks, then gave in and got a cab home. Eating out becomes a little too much so the last couple of nights we've done the posh deli thing.

A lovely day, despite the rain. I can't complain given that the sun has shone for the whole two weeks I've been here. It doesn't matter where I go or what I do, where I've been or what I've done, I've loved every single second of it. This is an amazing city and I don't think I've had a better holiday. I won't forget my time here mainly because I've kept a journal and we all know how much my memory sucks but the people I've met and the moments I've had, I shall treasure forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.