Delamanda

By Delamanda

Being babblative

Not my finest photographic moment, but I have a good excuse. I’ve been snapping away for Bleeding London, and owing to other pressures, I haven’t really done anything with the pix, so I thought it was high time that I made a start. But I wanted to find out a bit about the area, so I could add some local history to my posts, which was a good excuse to buy some books. Well one of them – a second-hand one- is full of newspaper clippings that IMHO are pretty boring. However, the snippets on the back of the clippings provides a much more interesting read. I have no idea how old these clippings are, but there are some real gems amongst them, including: a restaurant review of four restaurants in Chelsea where dinner for two with wine, coffee and service comes to less than £8 (none of these restaurants are here today); scandal at the BBC after someone played Elgar’s “Chanson de Matin” at 45 instead of 33, and – my favourite – a letter to the editor, in which Mr N S O’Connell opines that he believes his ‘savings to be at risk on account of building societies issuing mortgages to married women’. And the word of the day? I think I’ve just produced a fair example of being “babblative”: ‘Given to babbling; loquacious, prattling’ (OED) and I thought that a picture of a phone was good supporting babblative evidence.
Day #124 of a 365 project, where the daily pic is informed by the OED word of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.