Stockbridge Market

I was up mega-early (for me) today and after a couple fried eggs on rolls for breakfast I headed over to Stockbridge, feeling the need for a wee wake up when I arrived at the market so I got an espresso from Steampunk coffee, they have installed a traditional coffee machine into an old VW "camper van". Perhaps an espresso before doing the shopping was not such a good idea as I ended up buying much more than I intended! The market was very busy, considering the weather wasn't great, although it stayed dry for the most part I suspect the fact it is a bank holiday weekend probably brought out more people.

I visited my favourite stall "Ridley's Fish & Game" where I picked up a Venison steak and some venison mince plus chicken liver pâté and a "Homemade Bramley Apple Fudge Crumble" (all of which I've bought before and never fail to disappoint), I must remember to buy some ice cream to go with the crumble!

I was hoping to get some blackberries or something similar to make a sauce for the venison steak but ended up going for some bramble jelly on the advice of the lady on "The Strawberry Shop" stall. I did taste a couple nice jams but was advised jelly would be better for a sauce (no seeds).

I then spotted a stall selling various wines and meads and decided to try a couple, high on my espresso I ended up buying a small bottle of Raspberry Mead, I've no idea what I'll do with it yet (except maybe just drink it).

I had intended to go straight past the Eden Brewery stall as I already had a couple bottles of theirs at home and a full Growler of Tempest beer but I spotted a couple beers I didn't recognise so stopped for a wee taste, neither of them were particularly outstanding and I almost walked away but that espresso must have kicked in again as I ended up buying a couple bottle of Porter and a couple bottles of Oak Aged Whisky Barrel. Because I bought 4 beers I got a free bag, one of those large canvas type shopping bags with the Eden Brewery logo printed on it. I must make and effort to start using it at the supermarket instead of accumulating hundreds of plastic bags!

You can see the results of my shopping trip here.

After the market I popped into The Stockbridge Tap for a couple pints before catching the bus back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.