... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Zebra Spider

Another jumping spider! It was very little, so is clearer in large ("L").

Jumping spiders seem to like my room (Exhibit A and Exhibit B). I found this one on my wall, but put it on my bed so that I could photograph it more easily (they don't stay still when you put a macro lens near them...).
I didn't find this one quite as cute as the previous visitors: he is a male and his chelicerae and pedipalps are much longer and more threatening-looking (not that they are a threat to us, being about 5mm long and not poisonous to humans). It is believed that these rather out-of-proportion appendages are sexually selected (i.e. females find them appealing, but they're not adaptive otherwise).

I've put up some alternatives:
Long chelicerae and pedipalps (fang visible)
Cowering?!
Side on (closest)
Downwards view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.