Not on the tourist brochure

Is it just me or does Christchurch have an unusually high amount of derelict old industrial sites? This one is in the Heathcote Valley and I think it's part of the old Malt Works (I need a real Cantabrian to confirm this ;-)

I took some shots that looked a lot like what I remember of photos of Lebanon and Bosnia at war. Quite depressing. Huge lumps of concrete dangling off twisted steel rods. Huge barbed wire topped fences surround the site so won't be getting any closer.

I've dealt with the tagged fence. I could ask the council to but at this time of the year I'd have to wait a while. If the point of tagging is 'fame' and 'glory', I'd rather it was gone sooner than later.

I spent the best part of 2 hours armed with something toxic enough to dissolve paint, an old toothbrush to scrub it onto the rough sawn fence and a selection of old t-shirts to rub it off. After hosing the fence down and letting it dry I attacked any stubborn areas with a hefty piece of sand paper.

I've rolled on a couple of coats of stain on and it looks heaps better. In the couple of places the tag is faintly visible. Technically I own only a small portion of the fence and since I'm the only one contributing, it will probably stay that way. I have my own fence to paint.

I've completed another section on the inside of my front fence. It's the side with horizontal supports and various nooks and crannies so it really is a section at a time.
Hopefully hot sunny weather tomorrow and I can attack another chunk of it.

Sorry I'm behind with commenting. My eyes need aren't happy with the screen :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.