Idle

No work today for my new hose, or my old hose for that matter; it rained most of the day.

That's good as we were very dry and plants respond better to the nutrients in rain water than the beautiful water we drink from the aquifers beneath Canterbury. Not such good news if you're camping, with parts of the upper South Island experiencing record rain fall.

Today I've felt more on edge and less 'chipper' than yesterday. But feelings aren't everything and I've kept my thinking straight, pottered about on some sorting and tidying, then went out for the afternoon with a friend.

We saw 'The kids are all right'. Not a great movie and it wasn't the light escapism we hoped for. Disconcertingly there was a notice on the counter where we bought tickets telling patrons refunds from aftershocks are only given if the theatre closes. Believe me, a refund for NZ$13.50 would be the last thing on my mind if an earthquake hit while I was in a movie theatre!

We were also advised "to refrain from purchasing a ticket..." if we didn't like the idea of the lights off in a theatre. Whatever happened to plain English and warmly worded messages?! I did note where the exits were and had my head lamp in my pocket. We also chose a parking spot away from cordons and buildings (especially buildings with cracks). Such is life in Christchurch.

I'll settle and relax again, I know I will. Tomorrow is another day and I'm doing all the things I can do to look after myself. Might even get rid of the old 'kinky' hose and connect up the new 'anti torsion' one.

Now I'll sit back and enjoy the 'kinky' comments ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.