A slice of normal

Thank you for yesterday's comments and concern.

Last night I was exhausted and apprehensive about going upstairs to bed. I took a sleeping pill and vaguely noted I bounced and jolted about a couple of times during the night. But it was only a vague awareness, I didn't gain consciousness and slept 9 hours. (I missed a sizable quake and another 'little monster' centred not far from me).

What a difference a good night's sleep makes. I awoke feeling refreshed and better able to cope with the uncertainty of a land that keeps moving. I headed out for a run and worked in a visit to a friend. She works in the Christchurch Cathedral and had been at the Sunday morning service when the largest of the quakes struck. Masonry fell inside the cathedral but amazingly no one was hurt. This is story repeated throughout the inner city with bricks and masonry falling amongst Boxing Day crowds but no serious injuries or deaths.

115 buildings are unsafe in the city centre plus dozens of homes have new damage. I've glanced at my damage and it's probably extended a little. It could be a lot worse and I'm choosing a thought path of not dwelling or worrying about what I can't control or change.

My goal for the day was to to be as normal as possible. A friend and I visited a local valley for freshly picked apricots and cherries. Yum! May as well enjoy the good things this time of year brings. I think of it as a gentle response to the unpredictability of nature.

I did some serious kitchen cleaning and cut edges and lawns. There is immeasurable pleasure to be taken from the rhythm of the ordinary without the frightening violence of a sudden earthquake with an epicentre literally underneath you.

This afternoon I visited my friend J, enjoyed green tea and then a romp on the lawn with Jake, her son's dog. He's a 'hard case' and full of personality.

Normal is so very, very good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.