Violent and unexpected

Unless you were heavily intoxicated in Christchurch few people would have escaped being shaken awake at 2.07am today.

In recent weeks most of us within Christchurch city, we haven't felt them very often or intensely for some time. Of course if you live in rural areas where many aftershocks have been centred you have a different experience.

Today that all changed. A swarm of aftershocks in the city centre area has sharply intruded on us today. Some are extremely close to me. Being so close and shallow there is more damage to many buildings in the central city and parts of it are now cordoned off.

The old feelings of fear have returned and I feel a little dislocated at home. Over the past few weeks I've reflected on the the pleasant discovery my resilience didn't leave me. Today that feels shaky and uncertain, but it will be ok.

Nature is powerful and we have little control over it.

This isn't the image I went out trying to capture but for this day it is enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.