Don't shake

... or you'll drop cones on me ;-)

A good run, big stretch, light domestics and then a trip to the paint shop. The latter is a hopeful and positive move on my part. I've had an exterior paint project on my house underway but until I'm assessed for earthquake damage to the block work, the painter can't proceed. A post-run inspection today revealed fresh hairline cracks in mortar from Boxing Day's quakes. It could be a lot worse.

In the meantime I shall press on with colour decisions. I even have a mini roller and tray designed just for test pots. This saves me climbing up into the loft to get a paint brush. No point stressing myself to go where I don't want to at present. I had reached a point where I was happy enough to rummage around up in the loft (but not yet work at my easel). Time will invite me up there again.

Another day and I have spent a happy time viewing 'The Heart of the Great Alone - Scott, Shackleton and Antartic Photography' exhibition at the Robert McDougall Gallery (the old art gallery). It's absolutely wonderful and well worth NZ$15 is you're in Christchurch.

These images are part of the Queen's collection and rarely seen. They date from around 1908 - 1916 and are truly magnificent. All glass plate with exquisite detail, many with composition that made my toes happily curl with pleasure :-)

In a very small and minor way they inspired a little awe (and daring ;-) in the otherwise benign environment of the Botanical Gardens. (Benign being a relative term in Christchurch these days).

I'm out for dinner so will catch you later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.