The Cake Revealed

Never underestimate the power of icing sugar as it is being beaten with softened butter to coat all the kitchen working surfaces in a fine layer of powder: the expression 'a Dusting of Icing sugar' took on a whole new meaning this morning as I followed the instructions for making the coconut flavoured butter icing for tonight's cake and then spent half an hour washing every surface and utensil within 3 feet of the mixer.
I have made butter icing before, but never this way and never this way again.

Our book tonight is 'How to get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia' by Hamid Mohsin which I downloaded onto my IPad.

This was a mistake; I do not like reading a book from a Kindle or IPad even if the text does light up in the dark. I like the comfort of a paper book in my hands and know exactly where I am in it just by looking at the volume of pages read or still to read.
The good news is that I finished reading it, the bad news is that I never really connected with the story line, but I blame the IPad for that.
It will remain to be seen what the other ladies thought, after which we will tuck into the cake served with blueberries. They seemed a nice contrast to the almonds and apples lurking under the coconut icing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.