carliewired

By carliewired

"Heavy, Heavy Hangs Over Thy Head..."

We are reminded
that nothing lasts forever,
not even the trees

~ carliewired

On the left, business property. On the right, crown land with over-grown, untended cottonwood trees. Some of these trees tower fifty or sixty feet above the six foot fence. Cottonwoods have a certain hazard. They may look very green and healthy, yet they may be rotten on the inside.

In September 2011, one cottonwood tree came down in a wind storm. It toppled over our fence smashing down on someone's garden shed. Luckily, no one was injured or killed. The event prompted me to chase government officials to take some responsibility for the certain danger these trees pose to our neighbourhood. No one would step up to trim or remove anything!

Today, I have photographed the area again. I still see large trees at great heights leaning over the fence. Nothing has been done. Nothing has changed.

I think I will have another go at the Member of the Legislature who is, supposedly, responsible for this constituency. Previously, he has refused to do anything about this situation. I feel very strongly that we are just waiting for another big wind storm to bring something down. As my Mother would say " an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure." Should we really have to wait until someone is killed before these trees are dealt with? I have been told by a government employee that I am expected to employ an arborist who will direct what needs trimming or removing. Further, I may have to replace any trees that are removed, all at MY cost. Since when did I become personally responsible for crown land?

So, once again, I will lay the responsibility at the feet of one elected official. I will include glossy 5 x 7's with explicit details. And.....then we will wait....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.