Memories and mementos

Not another blip of frangipani or pools or green trees, today memories and mementos.

I brought both of these cross stitch pictures out with me. Made with love in every stitch. 32 years separates them. The first, one of 3, completed in '82, or maybe '83, after #1 son was born. It records the details of his birth - date, time, weight, length. He's a bit longer and heavier now.

The second commemorates the religious and cultural marriage of #1 son and daughter in law (those of you who follow this diary will remember that the legal ceremony took place 20 months earlier, a long time to wait for a wedding dinner!).

I realised that I didn't photograph the wedding one before I packed it and of course I don't have a digital photo of the first one so this blip rectifies this.

It was very hot last night - still 30 degrees at 11 p.m., perhaps because there had been no rain. I was up till 2 uploading about 100 photos on my OneDrive to share with friends and family.

Today is hot and humid. A home day I think. I've done some laundry, cleaned the microwave and the oven door (the oven will have to wait for more Mr Muscle), emptied the dishwasher and I'm about to take out the recycling. I'm practising for my role as a confinement aide when I come back in September, 3 months, not long.

WH has the doctor tonight but I've said I'll make dinner again so later it will be back up to Village Grocer in Kiara 1.

Other than that the pool beckons.

It is much more uncomfortable here than Sarawak. When I was at school we had a teacher who'd done VSO in Sarawak. She paired us with some of her ex- students to help support their English. I wrote to a boy, surname Sim, ironically, for a while. I expect he's still in Sarawak. i remember the name but not the address. Strange I ended up being a Sim and visiting Sarawak. Was it meant, no just happenstance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.