Oh Bali

My last full day here but I'll be back in 3 months which seems strange. When I knew I'd be back so quickly it seemed a long time between April and September but now it's May it will be here in a thrice!

Lazy day. It was overcast, not quite as hot, a steady 28 degrees most of the time. I had the BBC on all day and surprised myself by listening to 'Sailing By' first thing when I woke up and then realising with a start, when they handed back to R4 at lunchtime, that I'd been up 'all night'. A strange topsy turvey world this 7 hour time shift brings.

I did a lot of surfing, after tidying up the kitchen, doing my laundry and cleaning out the fridge. Strange I don't do this at home. Sat on the balcony for a bit with bears and finished my book. 'The Girl Who Fell to Earth' - very good about an SOE member in SW France. I had to hear the end before I could go on though - I hate sad endings.

Mid afternoon, between rain, I had a swim. Water was a wee bit chilly, definitely chilly compared to the South China Sea (back blips of Sarawak start here.)

More bears and radio. I had to perch it on a chair just off the balcony as the signal kept dropping. Women's Hour, at tea time!

Last meal out tonight with the other grandparents to be. We went to the Indonesian restaurant in Solaris. I wore my new red lounging trousers from Cambodia. And then got greasemarks on them. Typical! The table was a bit high for me. Being Indonesian there was no alcohol so I had a lovely Lemongrass Mojito mocktail. There was also a lot of food.

Back to the apartment well before 9 for Sarawak layer cake, a beer and a lot of talk with #1 son about setting up and expanding educational projects. He was writing down my ideas. Strange, or is it?, how 3 of us are now working in kinda similar jobs in education. We even speculated about all 3 of us being out here franchising and working. I could do that.

But right now I'm kind of glad to be going back because I couldn't stay in KL with nothing to do and the Malls hold no attraction. It's too busy, too noisy (too noisy on the balcony - traffic - to hear the radio with earbuds), too humid, too wet to be comfortable. And the apartment is a hot, humid, dark box. And I need to go back and earn some more pennies, esp as it seems I am now supporting all my kids. What was that about them being off the payroll?

The waiter took the photo and I can't straighten it here. so squint it remains. There are 6 of us - on the left the grandparents to be (it's been decided I'm to be 'Granny' btw, 'nai nai' met with no favour at all) and on the right the parents to be and 'the bump', so big now that yesterday's scan pic could only show the head and torso. It is getting a bit exciting!

Packing tomorrow, but that's always easy on the hoe leg, just chuck it all in the case. It will be good to get back and see my garden and something of the spring (and #2 son, the parents and Molly, of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.