Taylor Dam Autumn

I drove up to the Taylor Dam early this morning. The autumn colours are much more muted this season. I remember them being much more vibrant in previous years. I am told that the reason for the more muted autumn colours in the trees is because we have not had enough colder weather in the last few weeks. That could well be right as we have had a very very wet April this year and hardly any early frosts.
I climbed up onto the top of the large earth dam and captured this image of the lake that is a refuge for birdlife. I noticed that there are more ducks than usual on the water. Undoubtedly this is because they know that duck shooting season opened last weekend!
The flat paddocks to the south of the dam are on Meadowbank Station. They have greened up quite dramatically due to all the rain that fell in April. This is a good thing… the grass is growing really fast and it will continue to do so until the winter frosts begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.